PROFILE: Meet The New Service Chiefs


President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed new service chief after the immediate resignation of the former Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.


They are:

Chief of Defence Staff

Major General Leo Irabor, with Army number 8370, was born on October 5, 1965.

He is from Ika South of Delta State and he is a member of regular course 34 of the Nigerian Defence Academy.

He was once the Theatre Commander of the Operation Lafiya Dole and later took over as the Commander, Training and Doctrine Command (TRADOC) before he was on Tuesday named the Chief of Defence Staff.


Chief of Army Staff

Major General Ibrahim Attahiru, with Army Number 8406, was born on August 10, 1966. He is from Kaduna North Local Government Area of Kaduna State and a member of the Regular Course 35 of the Nigerian Defence Academy.

Before his appointment as the Chief of Army Staff, he was the General Officer Commanding 82 Division of the Nigerian Army, Enugu.

He was also a former Theatre Commander of the Operation Lafiya Dole. He took over from Major General Leo Irabor.



Chief of Naval Staff

Rear Admiral Awwal Zubairu Gambo was born on 22 Apr 06 and hails from Nasarawa LGA in Kano State.

He enlisted into the NN on 24 Sep 04 as a member of Regular Course 36 and was commissioned Sub-Lieutenant on 24 Sep 88. He is an Underwater Warfare specialist with a subspecialisation in Intelligence.

Until his appointment as the CNS, he was the Director of Procurement at the Defence Space Administration and has been awarded the Grand Service Star, Distinguished Service Star, passed staff course among other several decorations and awards.

He is married to Hajiya Nana Aishat Gambo and the marriage is blessed with 3 children.



Chief of Air Staff

Air Vice-Marshal Isiaka Oladayo Amao, is currently the Air Officer Commanding Tactical Air Command. He was born on 14 September 1965 in Enugu.

He hails from Oshogbo Local Government Area of Osun State.

He enlisted into the Nigerian Air Force on 19 January 1984 as a member of 35 Regular Course of the Nigerian Defence Academy and was commissioned as Pilot Officer on 20 December 86.