Senate confirms Buratai, other ex-Service chiefs as non-career ambassadors


The Senate, on Tuesday, confirmed the appointment of immediate former service chiefs as non-career ambassadors- designate.

The nominees are: General Abayomi Olonisakin (retd) (Ekiti); Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai (retd) (Borno); Vice Admiral Ibok- Ette Ibas (retd) (Cross River); Air Vice Marshal Sadique Abubakar (retd) (Bauchi); and Air Vice Marshal Muhammad S. Usman (Rtd) (Kano).

Their confirmation followed consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs, chaired by Senator Adamu Bulkachuwa (APC, Bauchi).

An attempt by the Minority Leader, Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe, to draw the attention of his colleagues to a petition against their confirmation was stopped by Senate President Ahmad Lawan.

Abaribe had asked Bulkachuwa to explain why the petition against them was dismissed but Lawan said the petition lacked merit.

Meanwhile, President Muhammadu Buhari has asked the Senate to confirm the appointment of Mr. Haliru Nababa, as the Controller General of the Nigerian Correctional Service.

Buhari’s letter seeking the confirmation of the nominee was read at plenary on Tuesday by the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan.